The Jurors

The North American Car, Utility and Truck of the Year Jurors

Our automotive awards are unique because — instead of being given by a single publication, website, radio or television station — they are given by an independent jury of automotive journalists from the United States and Canada. Each year this unbiased jury of approximately 50 expert print and broadcast journalists combine centuries of discerning experience to determine the winners of the North American Car, Utility and Truck of the Year awards.

Board of Directors

Lauren Fix, The Car Coach Board of Directors North American Car and Truck of the Year

Lauren Fix


Car Coach Reports, GCN Radio, O&O, NewsMax, USA Radio - Day Break 

Chis Paukert NACTOY Vice President

Chris Paukert

Vice President

Executive Editor, Roadshow by CNET

Kirk Bell NACTOY Vice President

Kirk Bell

Secretary - Treasurer

Senior Editor, Internet Brands Automotive

The Jury

Frank Aukofer NACTOY Juror

Frank Aukofer

DriveWays – Freelance

Mike Austin NACTOY Juror

Mike Austin

Hemmings Motor News

David Booth NACTOY Juror

David Booth

Freelance – National Post


Karl Brauer

Membership Elect - NACTOY Board,
Executive Publisher, Autotrader and Kelley Blue Book

Paul Brian NACTOY Juror

Paul Brian

The Motor Minute, O&O

Lindsay Brooke NACTOY Juror

Lindsay Brooke

Automotive Engineering / SAE International

Dan Carney NACTOY Juror

Dan Carney


John Davis NACTOY Juror

John Davis

MotorWeek – PBS Broadcast/Velocity Cable

Jamie Page Deaton NACTOY Juror

Jamie Page Deaton

Executive Editor, U.S. News & World Reports-Cars

Matt DeLorenzo NACTOY Juror

Matt DeLorenzo

Kelley Blue Book

Denis Duquet NACTOY Juror

Denis Duquet

Le Guide de l’auto

Paul Eisenstein NACTOY Juror

Paul Eisenstein

The Detroit Bureau, NBC, CNBC, Economist, KBB

Jeff Gilbert NACTOY Juror

Jeff Gilbert

Treasurer Elect - NACTOY Board,
WWJ Newsradio 950, CBS Radio Network

Ken Gross NACTOY Juror

Ken Gross


Bengt Halvorson NACTOY Juror

Bengt Halvorson

Internet Brands Automotive (High Gear Media)

North American Car of the Year award seal

John Pearley Huffman

Freelance – NY Times, Car and Driver

Erik Johnson NACTOY Juror

Erik Johnson

Senior Online Editor,

Automobile Magazine

Antoine Joubert NACTOY Juror

Antoine Joubert

Quebecor Media, Le Guide de l’Auto,, Journal de Montréal, Cogeco Media / 98,5 FM Montreal, ICI Radio-Canada / Marina Orsini

Jim Kenzie NACTOY Juror

Jim Kenzie

Toronto Star, Motoring TV

Jodi Lai NACTOY Juror

Jodi Lai


Marc Lachapelle NACTOY

Marc Lachapelle


John Lamm NACTOY Juror

John Lamm

Collier AutoMedia

Kelsey Mays NACTOY Juror

Kelsey Mays

Senior Editor,

Sue Mead NACTOY Juror

Sue Mead

Motor Matters, Latina Style, Truck Trend, Four Wheeler, Cool Hunting, The Land Report

John McElroy NACTOY Juror

John McElroy


Javier Mota NACTOY Juror

Javier Mota – Editor in Chief
Telemundo, Un Nuevo Día – Autos TV Reportes
NBC Deportes – Autos

Joann Muller NACTOY Juror

Joann Muller

Transportation Correspondent, Axios

Jack Nerad NACTOY Juror

Jack Nerad

Vice President Elect - NACTOY Board,
Freelance Writer & Author, America on the Road Radio

Sott Oldman NACTOY Juror

Scott Oldham


Marty Padgett NACTOY Juror

Marty Padgett

Editorial Director, Internet Brands Automotive

Henry Payne NACTOY Juror

Henry Payne

Detroit News

Mark Phlean NACTOY Juror

Mark Phelan

Auto Critic & Columnist – Detroit Free Press

Tony Quiroga NACTOY Juror

Tony Quiroga

Car and Driver

Ron Sessions NACTOY Juror

Ron Sessions

New York Daily News, Car and Driver,, Automotive Engineering,,,

Jeremy Sinek NACTOY Juror

Jeremy Sinek

Globe & Mail,

Steven Cole Smith NACTOY Juror

Steven Cole Smith, AutoWeek

Ben Stewart NACTOY Juror

Ben Stewart

Freelance – Popular Mechanics, Autoweek,

Richard Truett NACTOY Juror

Richard Truett

Automotive News

Lawrence Ulrich NACTOY Juror

Lawrence Ulrich

Freelance – New York Times

Gary Vasilash NACTOY Juror

Gary Vasilash

Secretary Elect - NACTOY Board,
Automotive Design & Production

Al Vazquez NACTOY Juror

Al Vazquez

Senior Contributor for and

John Voelker NACTOY Juror

John Voelcker


Basem Wasef NACTOY Juror

Basem Wasef


Joe Wiesenfelder NACTOY Juror

Joe Wiesenfelder

Leslie Wimbush NACTOY Juror

Lesley Wimbush

National Post Media,,

Drew Winter NACTOY Juror

Drew Winter

Senior Content Director, WardsAuto

Gary Witzenburg NACTOY Juror

Gary Witzenburg

President-elect - NACTOY Board, Freelance – Kelly Blue Book,


The North American Car, Utility and Truck of the Year awards are determined by an independent and diverse group of jurors from all across North America.


Jurors attend launch programs for each eligible vehicle and/or receive vehicle loans, then test drive them again during a three-day, back-to-back comparison held in October for side-by-side evaluations.


Initiated in 1994, the North American Car, Utility and Truck of the Year awards are the longest-running award not associated with a specific publication.